I Dont Do Trains

I dont do Trains!

This is my usual response when talking about the many wonders of railways. But it was a lovely day and the Didcot Railway Centre is 5 minutes down the road so……

I have only been there once before, and that was to deliver frozen chips about 20 years ago. I have to say that, after many years of working around Museums that have been burdened by over zealous health and safety rules this place was a breath of fresh air. It was nice to be able to get close up to the exhibits, mostly without barriers (although Steam Engines are harder to break that aircraft made from fabric and wood) and it was wonderful to see so many people working in the Engine Workshops. Whats more there were many young faces amongst the helpers, something that seems to be lacking in the Aircraft Preservation movement at the moment.

And like the best Aircraft museums, its still very much alive! They have regular steam days throughout the year.

On with the photos (sans captions for the most part as I really have no clue what is what, but please do follow the link to their website)



A busy Workshop

I know my place

Under the skin

What a superb notice

Broad Gauge! the sleepers run parrallel to the rails

In need of a little TLC

An overall view of the Engine Sheds, note the lack of barriers or warnings and the ability to be able to use ones common sense when moving around the site. I found this very refreshing in todays risk averse society.

I still dont do Trains! But I do rather like the Didcot Railway Centre

Let me know what you think

3 responses

  1. David Burt

    Thanks for these interesting pictures.

    I’ll be adding Didcot Railway Centre to my list of places to visit in 2011.

    February 17, 2011 at 10:18 am

  2. James Michell

    Very nice pictures. It makes a change to see pictures taken from a different perspective – ie by someone who is not a train enthusiast who sees them differently.

    February 13, 2011 at 4:23 pm

  3. Joe Sylve

    Perhaps the railway world is not affected quite so badly by tinpot hitlers running museums with the apparent aim of driving away their adult volunteers, who will then naturally take any youngsters with them, never to return.

    February 13, 2011 at 10:28 am

Please leave a comment if you like the blog.

